The Pending Sale of Parkview Adventist Medical Center

Print Friendly

A Lesson in Changing Circumstances

By: Charles R. Powell III, Esq.

Parkview Adventist Medical Center, a 55-bed hospital located in Brunswick, Maine, filed for relief under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code on June 16, 2015. The reason reported by Parkview in its filings with the court was changing circumstances. Front and center as a cause of the filing was a decrease in inpatient and emergency department-related services and an increase in health care costs. Currently, a potential sale to Mid Coast Hospital is pending and scheduled for a hearing on August 18, 2015, in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Maine, but it still may be possible for other interested parties to get involved.

Whether you operate a hospital or a long-term care facility, costs of care and competition are on the rise. Parkview is a lesson in the need to remain nimble in your marketplace and to streamline your business and maximize efficiency. Devine Millimet can help you accomplish these goals. We provide assistance to our clients with their day-to-day legal issues, as well as their regulatory, legislative, administrative, and litigation needs. Our team is experienced in the state and federal laws that uniquely apply to the healthcare industry. Our attorneys are able to address regulatory and compliance issues (Stark, Anti-Kickback, etc.), HIPAA, EMTALA, medical staff and employment issues, reimbursement matters (e.g. Medicare and Medicaid), managed care contracting, certificate of need issues, and risk management and professional liability matters. Our experience also extends into more generalized laws that affect the healthcare industry, such as nonprofit corporate law, charitable trust law, real estate, financing, antitrust, and state and federal tax law. We can also draft admissions agreements and design intake procedures to maximize your ability to collect on costs of care and our collections team can keep revenue flowing. Our Bankruptcy and Creditors’ Rights practice group can even assist you in the acquisition of other facilities, such as Parkview, where your successes translate into expansion. We are uniquely positioned to help you not only survive, but thrive, in changing circumstances.

 

Charles Powell, Esq.As a creditors’ rights attorney, Charles Powell focuses on commercial collections for corporations and other businesses, as well as for individuals. In the healthcare arena, Charles advises long-term care facilities with regard to admissions agreements, intake procedures, and collections. Charles has also drafted legislation designed to assist healthcare providers recover the costs of care under both Medicaid and private pay arrangements.

 

 

 

 


 

Parkview Adventist Medical Center | Healthcare Law

DEVINE HEALTH TEAM


Elaine Michaud, Esq., Chair  |  603.695.8546  |  emichaud@devinemillimet.com


Judith Feinberg Albright, Esq. | 603.606.5018 | jalbright@devinemillimet.com


Mark D. Attorri, Esq. | 603.606.5006 | mattorri@devinemillimet.com


David H. Barnes, Esq.  |  603.695.8500  |  dbarnes@devinemillimet.com


Paul J. Bauer, Esq. | 603.606.5023 | pbauer@devinemillimet.com


Steve Cohen, Esq., CPA, LLM  |  603.695.8504  |  scohen@devinemillimet.com


Jason E. Cole, Esq., CPA, MBA  |  603.695.8566  |  jcole@devinemillimet.com


Catherine B. Cosgrove, Esq. | 603-695-8652 | ccosgrove@devinemillimet.com


Robert E. Dunn, Esq.  |  603.410.1704  |  rdunn@devinemillimet.com


Renelle L. L’Huillier, Esq.  |  603.410.1709  |  rlhuillier@devinemillimet.com


Patricia M. McGrath, Esq., LLM  |  603.695.8537  |  pmcgrath@devinemillimet.com


Brendan P. Mitchell, Esq.  |  603.695.8537  |  bmitchell@devinemillimet.com


Pete W. Mosseau, Esq. | 603.606.5003 | pmosseau@devinemillimet.com


Margaret A. O’Brien, Esq.  |  603.695.8631  |  mobrien@devinemillimet.com


Charles R. Powell, III, Esq.  |  603.695.8736  |  cpowell@devinemillimet.com


Thomas Quarles, Jr., Esq.  |  603.695.8641  |  tquarles@devinemillimet.com


Paul C. Remus, Esq.  |  603.695.8506  |  premus@devinemillimet.com


Anne G. Scheer, Esq.  |  603.410.1708  |  ascheer@devinemillimet.com


Kierstan E. Schultz, Esq. | 603.606.5032 | kschultz@devinemillimet.com


Jon B. Sparkman, Esq., CPA  |  603.695.8507  |  jsparkman@devinemillimet.com


DEVINE STRATEGIES


Teresa Rosenberger  |  603.410.1702  |  trosenberger@devinemillimet.com


This is not a legal document nor is it intended to serve as legal advice or a legal opinion. Devine Millimet & Branch, P.A. makes no representations that this is a complete or final description or procedure that would ensure legal compliance and does not intend that the reader should rely on it as such.

Copyright © 2015 Devine Millimet & Branch, Professional Association